UK Adoptees

Brit.(~ish) B'Stards

Mixed messages

4gottenadoptee

going to keep silenceI’m not a trained or qualified social worker, neither do I have any desire to become so. But it came as a little eyebrow raiser when trying to talk with some adoption professionals, my attempts to reach out into this “field of work” were brushed off.

If I was being ingenuous, I could say that my status or lack or it i.e. not being a qualified social worker was a reason not to engage with me.  But that then also leads to a not unreasonable inference that this is an excuse which excuses them from having to consider the idea that an actual transracial adoptee might have something to bring to the table. That a person like me might actually have some merit in the formalised “adoption sector”.

If I was being paranoid I’d say that this is a deliberate ploy to keep adoptees out. To silence the voice of…

View original post 160 more words

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

